Wuxi, the new home of Taekwondo

CHINA - 2017/08/01 - Wuxi, the former industrial city located in Jiangsu Province in the People's Republic of China, will host the new-brand Taekwondo competition format that will leave more than one open-mouthed. MasTKD Español.

Wuxi, the new home of Taekwondo


“The World Taekwondo Grand Slam Champions Series” which offers extraordinary monetary prizes, will be exclusive to Wuxi until 2020.

Why can´t the venue be changed?

MasTKD recently contacted the World Taekwondo for more information on this exciting event, which promises to give our sport the professionalism it has sought for so many years. The Grand Slam would not change its location because the largest investor would be the Wuxi government itself until 2020.


Super-Elite “World Taekwondo Grand Slam” Series Announced


The WT explained that Wuxy wants to become a center of massive attractions and sports shows, and many projects are being planned and executed with ad-hoc infrastructure and cutting-edge technology, to give the sport a space never seen before in the world.

Taekwondo would be one of the first sports to be part of this mega project and would be adapted to be more media-friendly and a spectator-centric sport.

Event format

Each championship (eight per year), would be divided into four dates, for example: the first weekend would be the turn of the Fly category (-49 kg Female and -58 kg Male) and so on every weekend, which would give the competition a continuity similar to a football league.


Wuxi, the new home of Taekwondo

Regulation adapted

To make the competition more media-appealing, the rules could be modified, making the Grand Slam a unique format in Taekwondo.

Open participation for other disciplines

Allegedly, there would be three open quotas for athletes competing in other combat disciplines than Taekwondo, which generated much controversy among the Taekwondo community. At this respect, the World Taekwondo explained to us that this is part of the globalization politics, remembering that several athletes that today are Taekwondo Olympic figures, come from other martial arts.

Who can participate in the 2017/2018 cycle?

The competition will be exclusive for twelve athletes in the eight Olympic divisions, who will be invited as follows:

  • Olympic champion “Rio 2016”. (1)
  • World Champion “Muju 2017” (2)
  • Champion GP Final 2016 (1)
  • Champion GP Final 2017 (1)
  • GP Series 2017 champion (3)
  • Wild Card to the local (1)
  • Other combat disciplines (3)

The Prizes

The winner of each category will win $ 70,000; The silver medalist USD20,000; And bronze medal USD10,000.


Alex Siliezar, Claudio Aranda y Beatriz Rodríguez, Exclusivo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *