Aruba IOC Member Ms. Nicole Hoevertsz Appointed as WTF Council Member

The World Taekwondo Federation has appointed Ms. Nicole Hoevertsz, member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) from Aruba, as a new WTF Council member on Nov. 1, 2011.


Two months earlier, on Sept. 1, the WTF also appointed Mr. Milan Kwee, president of the Singapore Taekwondo Federation, and Mr. Heinz Gruber, president of the German Taekwondo Federation, as new members of the WTF Council.

With the new appointments, the WTF now has a 35-member Council, that is composed of one president, six vice presidents, one secretary general, one treasurer, 24 members, including 14 elected ones, and two ex-officio members.

The terms of the new Council members were effective as of Nov. 1 and Sept. 1, respectively, and will end in the closing of the WTF General Assembly to be held in 2013.

At the WTF General Assembly in October 2010 in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, the WTF decided on the increase of the number of the WTF Council members by three from 21 to 24, taking into consideration the ever-expanding WTF activities, which requires more experts. The WTF has a global membership of 200 countries around the world.

“I am very grateful that you are taking such a great interest in taekwondo in which you have accepted my offer of being appointed to be a member of the WTF Council,” said WTF Chungwon Choue in a recent letter to Ms. Hoevertsz. “I believe that your experience and expertise in sport will add a new dynamic to our administration and raise the bar of excellence further.”

Appointed as the IOC member of Aruba in 2006, Ms. Hoevertsz was born in 1964. As a synchronized swimmer, she participated in the duet during the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games and served as the coach of the Aruban solo and duet team at the 1988 Seoul Olympic Games.


With the new appointment of Ms. Hoevertsz, the number of female WTF Council members increased to four – Mrs. Maria Rosario Borello Castillo, president of the Guatemalan Taekwondo Federation, Ms. Carine Lahoud, president of the Lebanese Taekwondo Federation, and Ms. Myriam Baverel of France, while the number of IOC members on the WTF Council also rose to four – Mr. Phillip Walter Coles of Australia, Mr. Ivan Dibos of Peru, both WTF vice presidents, and Mr. Dae-sung Moon of Korea, who also serves as a member of the IOC Athlete Commission.



Press Release WTF






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *